Quit Smoking Blog Day 1

Today (well yesterday I suppose as it’s after midnight), I went to this hypnotherapist in Manchester as a friend had recommended him (the same friend I laughed at when he quit with hypnotherapy two years ago).

I was a bit surprised when I saw the address and noticed the hypnotherapist was in a business centre at The Triangle, a bit more upmarket than I was expecting. Well, expecting is a bit of a strong way of putting it but I had this image in my mind of some new-agey type in some kind of wizard’s den out the back of a new age shop or something. Anyway, I walked into a professional business centre, was welcomed by a receptionist and within a few minutes, my hypnotherapist appeared. Nothing like the image in my mind – well spoken, dressed smart-casual and my initial estimate was about 32-35, although from bits of conversation I’d now guess at closer to 40.

In total, I was there for 2 hours but it didn’t seem like it. I don’t know how long we talked before the hypnosis but either this guy is a mind reader or he knows the smoking habit inside-out (he knew how I think, when I smoke etc). The conversation about smoking was non patronising, looking back I think he was already doing a Derren Brown on me or something as I remember thinking “I don’t need to be here, I can quit now”. He explained what hypnosis feels like, what to expect and so on and then we started a relaxation exercise.

I think I remember everything that was said, he recorded it to CD for me so I’ll check, but it was kind of surreal. This is really hard to explain but it was like I knew that I was sat in an office that seats about 6 people and that this guy was talking to me but it was like I wasn’t there at the same time, kind of like a daydream.

I walked out afterwards, wondering where 2 hours went, and just felt totally chilled out for the rest of the day. It only dawned on me a few hours later when I was going for the train home that I hadn’t smoked. So far, so good, no cravings, no bad moods, no cigarettes. In fact the only thought about smoking has been “I would normally be smoking now but I don’t want/need one”.

I can’t say I’m convinced yet, after all we’ve all done at least a few days quitting haven’t we? It does seem much easier though. I’m slightly stunned actually but watch this space and we’ll see if it lasts!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment